Regional location promotion organizations

Discover the features of the various economic regions of Switzerland and find direct contacts to the best locations for your company.

The Swiss Flag

Some Swiss Cantons have joined together in cross-regional networks, known as Business Areas. As international contacts, the Business Areas mediate between international companies wanting to establish themselves, local demands and the interests of individual member Cantons.

There are four different regional business development organizations: Greater Zurich Area, Greater Geneva Bern Area, St.GallenBodenseeArea and Basel Area Business & Innovation. The Greater Zurich area includes the cantons of Zurich, Zug, Solothurn, Schaffhausen, Schwyz, Uri, Glarus, Grisons and Ticino. The Greater Geneva Bern Area includes the cantons of Geneva, Vaud, Neuchâtel, Fribourg, Bern and Valais. The cantons of St. Gallen, Thurgau and Appenzell Innerrhoden and Appenzell Ausserrhoden have joined together to form the St.GallenBodenseeArea. covers the cantons of Basel City (Basel-Stadt), Basel Countryside (Basel-Landschaft) and Jura.

The cantons of Aargau, Lucerne, Obwalden and Nidwalden operate independently and do not belong to any cross-regional organization.


Official program