Agreement on customs duty exemptions for IT products expanded

The International Technology Agreement (ITA) regarding customs duty exemptions for IT products was expanded in December 2015 to include an additional 201 products. The revised agreement will enter into force on July 1, 2016.
Computer-generated ultrasounds in medical technology.
201 additional IT products have been exempted from customs duties in the context of the international agreement for information technology.

The world of information and communications technology has changed completely since the ITA was created in 1996. In order to take this into consideration, the ITA has been expanded to include 201 IT products that did not even exist in 1996. As of July 1, 2016, these products will be exempted from customs duties, or at least subject to a step-by-step reduction in tariffs on the cross-border shipment of goods between individual ITA member states, to be completed by July 2019 at the latest.

The approx. 50 member states include Switzerland and Liechtenstein as well as all EU member states, Norway, Iceland, the USA, China, Japan, Korea, Singapore, South Korea, Canada, Malaysia, Thailand and the Philippines.

The list of the 201 IT products now exempted from customs duties can be found in this WTO document (Declaration on the Expansion of Trade in Information Technology Products) in the Annexe from page 4.

World Trade Organization WTO: Information Technology Agreement

WTO: Declaration on the Expansion of Trade in Information Technology Products

Impulse: ICT (at the Swiss ICT Award), November 15 in Lucerne (in German)

Read more
Recommend us
How should we contact you?

Premium Partner

Strategic partners

Institutional partner

Official program